2016 Scholarship Students Group Pic


On Friday, June 17, 2016, parents, family members, WHS staff, special guests, and alumni gathered at the Solid Rock Baptist Church in Irvington for a Scholarship Celebration Banquet as the Weequahic High School Alumni Association awarded $31,000 for scholarships to 23 graduating seniors of Weequahic. Since 1998, it has provided nearly 450 scholarships to WHS students, totaling more than one-half million dollars.

This year, the Alumni Association was able to award the Sandy Grossman Memorial Scholarship, established in 2015 by his son Dean and the Grossman family. They wanted to honor Sandy’s legacy who, as a boy growing up in humble beginnings in Newark, went on to become an accomplished and well-respected sports director for Fox and CBS Sports. Emmanuella Asare was the recipient of this scholarship. She plans to attend Montclair State and eventually become a pediatric surgeon.

The Alumni Association presented two $2,000 scholarship to Taariq Lumford and Naylene Vasquez, and $1,000 scholarships to the following students:

Towana Bland, Jacqueline Abruquah-Ivanir, Keyshawna Smith-White, Zoriah DeVaughn, Aisha Swary, Dechea Howard, Kelvin Adjei-Adusei, Ibina Cooper, Khaia Diouf, Tatitonnah Jacobs, Juwell Smith-Person, Rebecca Cadet, Sajaida Carswell, Morissa Bristow, Nathaniel Agyeman, Derrick Washington, Isiah Wallace, Sadaqah Balaam, Jameshia Charlton, and Jasmine Bruton.

The WHSAA is very proud to be able to assist these students who are embarking on the next step of this journey called Life. They are hard-working, goal oriented, excited to embrace the future, and thankful for the opportunities that come their way.

The our guest speaker was Jane Asante, a 2016 Rutgers School of Nursing graduate. Jane graduated from WHS in 2011 and was able to complete college with the assistance of the WHSAA Scholarship Program. Also speaking at the event were Lisa McDonald, WHS Principal; Toni Baskerville-Richardson, a WHS 1970 grad and President of the Newark Board of Education; Myra Lawson, WHS Alumni Executive Director; and Hal Braff, co-founder of the WHS Alumni Association. Phil Yourish, the founding WHS Alumni Executive Director, presented the scholarship to the students.

Active scholarship funds, named after graduation classes, faculty, and alumni, are as follows: Class of 1963, Class of 1964, Class of 1965, Alvin Attles, Ronald G. Stone, Nancy & Marsha Small, Ronald Griffin, Swede Masin, Sadie Rous, Hannah Litzky, Morey Bobrow, Edwin McLucas, Walter Hastreiter, Reada & Harry Jellinek. Sandy Grossman.

The WHS ALUMNI ASSOCIATION thanks all of our alumni and friends for helping us to make this special occasion possible.

From Christopher D. Cerf, Newark Superintendent of Schools, on Weequahic Alumni Scholarships

“Thanks to the generosity of the Weequahic High School Alumni Association, Weequahic graduating seniors are receiving much needed financial support as they head off to college,” said Christopher D. Cerf, Superintendent of Newark Public Schools (NPS).

“We are so proud of all these young men and women for all they have accomplished, and wish them much success as they embark on the next chapter of their lives. We are grateful to WHSAA for their continued commitment and passion to improve educational opportunities for WHS’s students.”